mcbeth wrote:
Now, back to your question. I'm pretty sure the CivProject rule book has a line to the effect of making no mention of calamities during the trade round. This makes it awful hard to do what you suggest.
Actually, it doesn't. AdvCiv rules states that you must name two
commodities in a trade trade, and in an appendix it states that you can't mention calamities during trading. CivProject rules, however, states that you must name two
trade cardsin a trade, and doesn't mention mentioning calamities.
However, neither with the current or proposed rules would there be any benefit in buying minor calamities (though there could be instances where it would be worth it to buy some lower level major calamities, i.e. when you have fundamentalism and regression).
The problem I've noticed, and I think alloowishus has to, is people who are giving all their major calamities as third cards, and end up with only three minor calamities. In all fairness they should get hit with all three, but get away with only one.