Your question:
MerlokDD wrote:
Do Calendar and Pottery stack for a secondary victim of famine?
My answer: Yes!, for a secondary victim only, not for a primary victim.Now why:
Let's first take a look at the rulebook:
Quote:
...
29.3.1 Famine (major, non-tradable)
29.3.1.1 The primary victim loses ten unit points himself, and must instruct other players to remove 20 unit points, no more than eight of which may come from any one player. The primary victim decides how many unit points are lost by each of the secondary victims, but the secondary victims decide what units to remove.
29.3.1.2 Primary or secondary victims who hold Pottery (30.39) reduce the number of unit points lost to Famine by five.
29.3.1.3 Secondary victims who hold Calendar (30.7) reduce the number of unit points lost to Famine by five.
...
...
30.7 Calendar (Science – 180)
...
30.7.2 Five less unit points are lost by a secondary victim of Famine (29.3.1.3).
...
30.39 Pottery (Craft – 60)
...
30.39.2 Five less unit points are lost due to Famine (29.3.1.2).
...
I agree this is not as clear as possible. In the first place i'd say, change the line at 30.39.2 to be equal to the writing at 30.7.2
so change in the rulebook:
"30.39.2 Five less unit points are lost by a primary or secondary victim of Famine (29.3.1.2)"
Then I miss the line about these two card being cumulative and I interpret this as cumulative, otherwise I'd change the line into 'a maximum of five less...', which I don't think is the way it should be read, so:
- A primary victim holding only Pottery subtracts 5 from 10 points of damage, resulting in 5 damage.
- A primary victim holding only Calendar cards subtracts 0 from 10 points of damage, resulting in 10 damage.
- A primary victim holding both cards subtracts 5 from 10 points of damage, resulting in 5 damage.
- A secondary victim holding only Pottery subtracts 5 from max 8 points of damage, resulting in max 3 damage.
- A secondary victim holding only Calendar cards subtracts 5 from max 8 points of damage, resulting in max 3 damage.
- A secondary victim holding both cards subtracts 10 from max 8 points of damage, resulting in max -2 = 0 damage.
In fact, As primary victim you cannot defend completely against Famine, where as secondary victim you can.
I'd suggest to add a line to clearify this in the rulebook only, not on the card.
(just like the ruling for Superstition)
...
29.3.1.5 The effects of Calendar and Pottery are cumulative.
...