Politics - Artwork
| Author |
Message |
| 2003-02-27 19:07:46 |
I've been racking my brain to find a picture relating to ancient politics. I have a picture of the roman senate on it now.. but I don't think it will print out well. Anyone have any suggestions on what art I should put on this card?
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2003-03-19 22:58:45 |
Hmm I like my new politics picture now... I stole it from another defunt Avalon Hill game Republic of Rome (a very good game btw) Velusion wrote: I've been racking my brain to find a picture relating to ancient politics. I have a picture of the roman senate on it now.. but I don't think it will print out well. Anyone have any suggestions on what art I should put on this card?
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-10 8:01:55 |
Defunt Republic of Rome? A game is defunt when nobody plays it. And I know it is still played.
Raffaele
_________________ Raffaele
<a href="http://nuke.goblins.net/index.php">Goblin's lair</a>
|
|
rporrini
Senior Member 

Joined: 2004-02-23 3:42:29 Posts: 92 Location: Italy
|
|
| 2004-03-10 8:22:17 |
Yes we played Republic of Rome on month ago.... On question about Trade Routes. "Holder may exchange commodity cards for treasure tokens". Does it mean holder can exchange with other players when he wants, or just with the desk?
|
|
Yinsh
Member 

Joined: 2004-03-07 15:12:05 Posts: 30 Location: France
|
|
| 2004-03-10 10:55:02 |
Velusion is definitely aware of Republic of Rome being played. He is GMing (3?) games PBEM, and runs a mailing list for the game.
Yinsh: I am 99% positive that the rule refers to turning the card in to the deck.
|
|
mcbeth
VIP 

Joined: 2003-07-01 15:19:33 Posts: 217 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-11 0:47:50 |
So when he holds TRADE ROUTES, he can buy when he wants in the game some commodities cards for twice than the value of them: 2 for one of the first level 8 for two of the first level ....4 for one of the second level, 16 for two of the second level and so on??
|
|
Yinsh
Member 

Joined: 2004-03-07 15:12:05 Posts: 30 Location: France
|
|
| 2004-03-11 12:00:08 |
Good question. I have assumed that you cannot turn in sets as sets. It is a card for double in treasury. I thought the rules said one card a round, but it doesn't. You would have to have that amount available in treasury too.
|
|
mcbeth
VIP 

Joined: 2003-07-01 15:19:33 Posts: 217 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-11 15:01:02 |
So if i have the amount in my treasure, i can buy as many commodities cards as i want whenever during the game! That is a very powerful card. I think it's better to add in the new rule book "One time per turn" no ?
|
|
Yinsh
Member 

Joined: 2004-03-07 15:12:05 Posts: 30 Location: France
|
|
| 2004-03-11 15:46:51 |
The exchange is the other way around. You discard a commodity card for 2x treasury. I agree that it should probably be limited to 1 per turn, but it certainly isn't as powerful as it would be if it were the other way...
|
|
mcbeth
VIP 

Joined: 2003-07-01 15:19:33 Posts: 217 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-12 0:24:21 |
mcbeth wrote: The exchange is the other way around. You discard a commodity card for 2x treasury. I agree that it should probably be limited to 1 per turn, but it certainly isn't as powerful as it would be if it were the other way...
Remember you cannot do this when acquiring civilization advances... can you give me an example of how this could be abused or would lead to unbalanced play? I'm open to limiting it if I get a good example or two...
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-12 1:58:10 |
mcbeth wrote: You discard a commodity card for 2x treasury. I agree that it should probably be limited to 1 per turn, but it certainly isn't as powerful as it would be if it were the other way...
Why do you say "discard commodity card"? You buy one commodity card for twice of the value It is nice to buy one card of one deck to empty it to deprive someone of grain for example. But you're right, it is not as powerful because two card of grain could be impossible to buy
|
|
Yinsh
Member 

Joined: 2004-03-07 15:12:05 Posts: 30 Location: France
|
|
| 2004-03-12 9:46:02 |
Velusion: I can't think of a thing.
Trade Routes (unless I have completely misread the rules) allows you to turn one commodity card in to the discard pile, and in return collect 2x treasury. Here is the sentence in question...
32.0282 Holder may exchange commodity cards for treasury tokens.
Unless my english parsing skills have completely abandoned me (and they very well might have done), this means you are giving up a commodity card, and gaining treasury tokens.
|
|
mcbeth
VIP 

Joined: 2003-07-01 15:19:33 Posts: 217 Location: USA
|
|
| 2004-03-15 14:44:47 |
How many areas can i annex if i own POLITICS per turn?
|
|
Yinsh
Member 

Joined: 2004-03-07 15:12:05 Posts: 30 Location: France
|
|
| 2004-03-16 0:11:35 |
Yinsh wrote: How many areas can i annex if i own POLITICS per turn?
One (32.1161) Raffaele
_________________ Raffaele
<a href="http://nuke.goblins.net/index.php">Goblin's lair</a>
|
|
rporrini
Senior Member 

Joined: 2004-02-23 3:42:29 Posts: 92 Location: Italy
|
|
|