Playtesting and Adopted Advancement Changes
| Author |
Message |
| 2008-11-06 18:49:13 |
 Playtesting and Adopted Advancement Changes
Ok, I like Flo's method better. Post advancement changes here, with a basic description of why the rules were changed.
Use green to indicate pros and cons of the rule change.
Use bold to indicate how many times it's been playtested, and how it has been adopted.
Then indicate the advancement changes with:
Advance Name (price) (new price)
Red to indicate an additional effect.
dark red to indicate a removed effect.
Finally, after the changes you make to the text of the card (or the text of the quicksheet), indicate the rules change in Olive
Card effects should be printed in turn order:
-taxes
-movement
-conflict
-citybuilding
-acquiring trade cards
-calamities
-Special abilities
-aquiring civilization cards
-Return Excess Trade Cards
-Alter AST
When a calamity effect is changed, indicate it like so:
CALAMITY: effect
When another advancement is referenced, please use italics.
See Flo's posts for examples.
Please keep things updated with edits instead of new posts, so that this thread doesn't get exceptionally long. I want this to be more of a reference point than a discussion about changes. If anyone knows the tag for a strikethrough, let me know. Also, if this thread can be made sticky, that would be nice.
_________________ Chris Brown
Last edited by FortyTwo42 on 2008-11-06 22:36:26, edited 4 times in total.
|
|
FortyTwo42
Member 

Joined: 2007-01-27 17:51:54 Posts: 37 Location: Houghton, Michigan, United States
|
|
| 2008-11-06 19:21:10 |
Hi Chris!
Good thing!
I couldn't find a srtikeout either when I tried to post a clear list myself.
I created post like this before, but I put in in the general tab to suggest for official rule changes after playtests.
http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=495
I'll also provide you with printable playtest cards on which the changes are made clear.
I use these to play myself.
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-11-07 20:37:04, edited 9 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-06 19:34:16 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Velusion wrote: Until Jonno chimes in lets assume the changes to cards outlined are now official. Quote: WONDER OF THE WORLD - MONUMENT - WRITTEN RECORD 1. The reason for the change was because we all found Wonder of the World should be a special 'ultimate' card (like in the computer games). Making it 290 does only a part of that. It should have an ability that's special and great for the endgame. Without making other to keep up and without disturbing other players with this ability. The main reason for this is because we found the current Wonder of the World not very special for its status and price
2. Changing this card meant we removed the extra 20 credit tokens. Therefore we raised the 10 extra credtis of Monument from 10 to 20 and the extra 5 creditfs of Written Record from 5 to 10.This has been playtested 6 times and has been agreed on to be a great change. We strongly suggest to change these cards officially.Wonder of the World (280) (290) - REMOVED: Gives additional 20 Credits of any combination of color - You may acquire one additional trade card for free, from a trade card stack of your choice that is higher than your amount of cities in play. - CORRUPTION: Five additional commodity card points must be discarded.
- Nullifies Trade Empire - Decreases the epoch entry requirements on the AST by one city. Monument (180)- REPLACED: Upon Purchase, you acquire ten points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn.- Upon Purchase, you acquire twenty points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn.Written Record (60)- REPLACED: Upon Purchase, you acquire five points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn.- Upon Purchase, you acquire ten points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn.
Addition to the Rulebook: -- 28.1.2 A player who holds Wonder of the World may lower the epoch entry requirements by one city. -- 22.56 A player who holds Wonder of the World (29.51) may aqcuire exactly one additional trade card for free from a trade card stack from his choice. This is considered a purchase and does count to the limit of a maximum of two purchases per turn. -- 29.7.2 If the victim holds Coinage (30.10) five additional points of commodity cards are discarded. 29.7.3 If the victim holds Wonder of the World (30.51) five additional points of commodity cards are discarded. 29.7.4 If the victim holds Law (30.21) five less points of commodity cards are discarded. -- 30.32 Monument (Craft & Religion - 180) 30.32.1 Provides 5 Craft credits, and 5 Religion credits. Provides 20 extra credits to Wonder of the World. 30.32.2 Upon Purchase, you acquire twenty points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn. -- 29.51 Wonder of the World (Craft & Art - 290) 29.511 During Trade Cards Acquisition Phase, a holder may acquire one additional trade card for free, from a trade card stack of his choice that is higher than his amount of cities in play. This is considered a purchase and does count to the limit of a maximum of two purchases per turn. 29.512 CORRUPTION: Five additional commodity card points must be discarded. 29.513 A player who holds Wonder of the World is immune to the effects of Trade Empire (25.7). 29.514 Provides 5 Craft credits and 5 Art credits. --- 30.52 Written Record (Science & Civic - 60) 30.52.1 Provides 5 Science credits, and 5 Civic credits. Provides 10 extra credits to Cartography. 30.52.2 Upon Purchase, you acquire ten points of credit tokens in any combination of colors. These credits can not be used during the same turn. ---
Change on the Calamity Quickchart: Corruption - Effects agravated by: Coinage, Wonder of the World.
   I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution):   
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-21 21:15:28, edited 20 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-06 20:38:39 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Velusion wrote: Agreed to the change. Consider it official. Nevertheless, there has been some suggestions for additional playtest on another subject of the card. This can be found further in this topic. Quote: DIASPORA:Reason is that it was used to leave an empty non-citysite area empty in the middel of one's empire, and then fill it up with a wilderness city. The wilderness city-option is now removed.It has been tried for playtest 5 times but it hasn't been bought yet, so no results. Still we agree on that ability for now.Diaspora (270)- During the Special Abilities Phase, you may place a city or tokens up to the population limit from stock in an empty area, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to target area. Cities built this way can only be built on a city site.-Your hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one. Addition to the Rulebook: -- 30.14 Diaspora (Religion - 270) 30.14.1 Provides 10 Religion credits and 5 Art credits. 30.14.2 During the Special Abilities Phase (25.2), a holder may place a city or tokens up to the population limit from stock in an empty area, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to target area. Cities built this way can only be built on a city site. 30.14.3 A holder's hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one. (27.2.2) -- I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution): 
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-05 16:14:45, edited 11 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-06 20:52:48 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Velusion wrote: Agreed and officially approved. Quote: POLITICS:Reason: It wasn't always clear what the rules say about annexing a city by Politics. All we did is claerify the rules in this.We playtested it at least 8 times, but it started as houserule anyway. We only changed the official text on the card.Politics (230)- BARBARIAN HORDES: Five additional barbarian tokens are used. - During the Special Abilities Phase, you may either gain five treasury tokens from stock, or replace from treasury exactly all units inone adjacent area belonging to a player not holding Politics or Cultural Ascendancy. In case a city is annexed, it is replaced by a city from stock and exactly five treasury tokens are transferred to stock. Pirate cities and barbarian tokens may not be annexed. Addition to the Rulebook: -- 30.38 Politics (Art - 230) 30.38.1 Provides 10 Art credits and 5 Religion credits. 30.38.2 Five additional barbarian tokens are used in Barbarian Hordes (29.5.2.2). 30.38.3 During the Special Abilities Phase (25.5), a holder may either gain five treasury tokens from stock, or replace from treasury exactly all units inone adjacent area belonging to a player not holding Politics or Cultural Ascendancy. In case a city is annexed, it is replaced by a city from stock and exactly five treasury tokens are transferred to stock. Pirate cities and barbarian tokens may not be annexed. --  I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution): 
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 8:46:33, edited 3 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-08 15:39:43 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Quote: URBANISM - ENGINEERING1. we experienced that eventhough a player would like to choose the Civics-path/strategy, it still was not attractive. All card are expensive and have many downsides. So we were looking for a way to make the civic-branch a little more attractive. One step is to enable player to build up red credits. Urbansim was a card most people do not even want if they would get it for free because of its Volcanic Eruption and Earthquake drawback. We decided to leave that off to make this card be one of the first step in a civic-strategy. Along with that, the attribute on Engineering is removed.
2. We also decided to change/clearify that the attribute on Urbanism should be allowed only once per turn like Architecture.
3. And it wasn't clear on the card that only areas adjacent by land can be used for Urbanism. This has been playtested once and it changed from an impopular card into a more popular card. It now has been used several times during the game. We agreed on this to be good change without making the card being too powerful.Urbanism (50) - REMOVED: You may use up to four tokens from adjacent areas to build a city in an area without a city site.- Once per turn, up to four tokens from areas adjacent by land may be used to build a city in an area without a city site.- REMOVED: VOLCANIC ERUPTION OR EARTHQUAKE: Four unit points are destroyed from areas adjacent to the destroyed or reduced city.Engineering (160)- Players require one additional token when attacking your cities, and the defending cities are replaced by one additional token. - You require one less token when attacking cities, and the defending cities are replaced by one less token. - EARTHQUAKE: The city is reduced rather than destroyed. - REMOVED: VOLCANIC ERUPTION OR EARTHQUAKE: Voids the effects of Urbanism.- FLOOD: A maximum of seven unit points from a flood plain are destroyed, or a coastal city is reduced rather than destroyed. Adding to the rulebook:
19.5 Players holding Urbanism (30.50 may, when building a city in an area without a city site, use up to four tokens residing in areas adjacent by land to the area in which the city is to be built. These tokens are returned to stock. -- 29.2.1.3 If a primary victim of an earthquake (29.2.1.2 ) holds Engineering (30.18 ) the city is reduced rahter than eliminated. If a volcanic eruption (29.2.1.1) eliminates a city, Engineering will have no effect on the elimination of the city. 29.2.1.4 Remove subject 29.2.1.4. -- 30.18 Engineering (Craft & Science - 160) 30.18.1 Provides 5 Craft credits and 5 Science credits. Provides 20 extra credits to Roadbuilding. 30.18.2 Players require one additional token when attacking a holder's cities, and the defending cities are replaced by one additional token (18.3.5) 30.18.3 A holder requires one less token when attacking cities, and the defending cities are replaced by one less token (18.3.5.) 30.18.4 The city is reduced rather than eliminated due to Earthquake (29.2.1.3). 30.18.5 A maximum of seven unit points from a flood plain are destroyed, or a coastal city is reduced rather than destroyed due to Flood (29.5.1.5) 30.18.6 Remove subject 30.18.6. -- 30.50 Urbanism (Civic - 50) 30.50.1 Provides 10 Civic credits and 5 science credits. Provides 10 extra credits to Diplomacy. 30.50.2 A holder may, once per turn, use up to four tokens from areas adjacent by land to build a city in an area without a city site. (19.5) --
Change on the Calamity Quickchart: VOLCANIC ERUPTION OR EARTHQUAKE - Effects aggravted by: None.
  I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution):  
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 8:44:03, edited 4 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-08 16:59:41 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Quote: TRADE ROUTES1. We found the ability on Trade Routes pretty useless. Exchanging cards for treasury tokens at the Return Excess Trade Cards Phase seems nice at first glance, but it'll probably be 1's or 2's you're exchanging. 180 points is very expensive for an ability like that. In addition, if you can hold one extra card, you'd rather hold that extra card instead of exchanging it for treasury.
2. Besides, you need treasury at the moment you are buying either Advances, Trade cards or for the use of special abilities and these moments have passed at that point. We thought if you'd be abled to exchange your cards as special ability, you can both use it for other special abilities like Univeral Doctrine or Politics and use it for voiding the shortage you might have on buying that one Advance you're trying to purchase.
3. We found it nescesary to state you can only exchange for exact twice the face value and not up to twice the face value. This has been playtested once, without results. No-one got to buying Trade Routes. Still it's up to playtest for the next games.Quote: Trade Routes (180) - During the Special Abilities Phase you may exchange any number of commodity cards for treasury tokens from stock at exactly twice the face value. - Your hand limit of trade cards is increased by one. adding to the rulebook:
-- 25.8 Universal Doctrine Universal Doctrine used to be subject 25.8 and becomes subject 25.9) Change the following contents (Universal Doctrine): - 25.8.1 into 25.9.1 - 25.8.2 into 25.9.2 - 25.8.3 into 25.9.3 -- 25.8 Trade Routes 25.8.1 A holder may may exchange any number of commodity cards for treasury tokens from stock at exactly twice the face value. If a player does not have enough tokens in stock he may not exchange that trade card. 25.8.2 The exchange of any number of commodity cards this way, is considered one Special Ability. -- 27.1 (Remove content and use following:) After acquiring civilization cards players may retain up to eight commodity cards in their hands for the next turn. Any excess commodity cards of the player's choice must be discarded, displayed, shuffled together with commodity cards used to acquire civilization cards and with calamities that took place in the same turn, then placed face down, at the bottom of the appropriate trade cards stack. Players may not conceal the number of commodity cards they retain. 27.1.1 Players holding Trade Routes (30.48 ) may retain one additional commodity card. 27.1.2 Players holding Diaspora (30.14) may retain one less commodity card. 27.1.3 The effects of Trade Routes and Diaspora are cummulative. -- 30.48 Trade Routes (Craft - 180) 30.48.1 Provides 10 Craft credits and 5 Religion credits. Provides 20 extra credits to Trade Empire. 30.48.2 During the Special Abilities Phase, a holder may exchange any number of commodity cards for treasury tokens from stock at exactly twice the face value. If a player does not have enough tokens in stock he may not exchange that trade card. The exchange of any number of commodity cards this way, is considered one Special Ability. 30.48.3 A holder's hand limit of trade cards is increasde by one (27.2.1) -- 30.49.3 (This line used to direct to 25.8 and now should direct to 25.9) During the Special Abilities Phase (25.9), a holder may replace from stock up to five pirate or barbarian units in one area, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to target area. --  I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution): 
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-21 20:56:46, edited 3 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-30 20:03:30 |
The following changes have been denied and are replaced by new playtest-changes. This can be found in a new reply in this topic:
Quote: NAVAL WARFARE - MILITARY - ADVANCED MILITARY
1. If the Civil War drawback stays cumulative, no-one ever purchases all three cards. that is why we changed it to a maximum of five unit points from both factions to be destroyed. This change is part of the closer look at the civic-branch, combined with the removal of the volcanic eruption-drawback from Urbanism.
Now, once a player purchases any of these three cards, the other two become more attractive as you already have to deal with the civil war drawback.
2. 260 is too much for Advanced Military. To nullify Cultural Ascendancy it's even more interesting to purchase Cultural Ascendancy itself. If the civil war drawback stay cumulative you also don't build up civic-credits. We first lowered its price to 220, but that was too cheap, so we raised it to 240.
This has been playtested once, where several players purchased Naval warfare. This was the first time we saw people actually purchasing it.
NAVAL WARFARE (160) - Your ships may carry one additional token. - You may use ships instead of tokens as casualties in conflict. - CIVIL WAR: A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed. - CIVIL DISORDER: One additional city is reduced - PIRACY: One less city is reduced.
MILITARY (170) - you construct and maintain ships, and move, after all players not holding Military. - CIVIL WAR: A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed. - CIVIL DISORDER: One additional city is reduced - Nullifies Diplomacy.
ADVANCED MILITARY (260-240) - You may use tokens from areas adjacent by land as casualties in battle, but must leave at least one token in each area used this way. - CIVIL WAR: A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed. - CIVIL DISORDER: One additional city is reduced - Nullifies Cultural Ascendancy.
Adding to the rulebook:
29.4.1.6 If the victim holds either Military (30.28 ), Naval Warfare (30.36), or Advanced Military (30.2) a total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed. This is not cumulative. The required units are removed immediataly after factions are selected. First the primary victim destroys five unit point from his chosen faction, then the beneficiary destroys five unit point from the other faction. If the faction assigned to the beneficiary consists of less than five unit points all of the unit points from this faction are destroyed. Each player must, if possible, remove the required unit points from areas within or adjacent to the other faction.
30.2 Advanced Military (Civic – 240) 30.2.3 A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed due to Civil War. This is not cumulative with the effects of Military (30.28 ) and Naval Warfare (30.36) on Civil War (29.4.1.6).
30.28 Military (Civic – 170) 30.28.3 A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed due to Civil War. This is not cumulative with the effects of Advanced Military (30.2) and Naval Warfare (30.36) on Civil War (29.4.1.6).
30.36 Naval Warfare (Civic – 160) 30.36.4 A total of five unit points from both factions are destroyed due to Civil War. This is not cumulative with the effects of Military (30.28 ) and Advanced Military (30.2) on Civil War (29.4.1.6).
   I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. This is a preview at 72dpi (low-resolution):   
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-05 14:54:21, edited 4 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-30 21:52:23 |
THE FOLLOWING CHANGE IS NO LONGER A PLAYTEST BUT HAS BEEN APPROVED FOR OFFICIAL CHANGE IN VERSION 2.11
Velusion wrote: Approved. This was how it was originally intended by me btw. Quote: PUBLIC WORKS.This is a small change, unnoticed by many players, until it is being used. Formerly once you have this card, anyone could place token into you city area, now it's only you who can do that.
1. The card itself is not so popular, though inactractive when you don't change this. There is no need not to change it. It doesn't become more powerful, just less inactractive.
2. Lowering its price to make the card more popular seemed to be no option
3. The additional token required for city contruction is actually is being compensated by the additional token allowed in a city area. This has not been playtested yet, but seems fair to us anyway.30.41 Public Works (Civic – 230)- Your cities cost one additional token to construct. - Each area containing one of your cities may also contain one of your tokens.- Nullifies Provincial Empire. Adding to the rulebook:
18.1 Conflict occurs when the tokens of two or more civilizations occupy the same area and the total number of tokens in the area is greater than the population limit of the area. Areas containing a city can not hold any tokens, unless the city owner holds Public Works (30.41), in which case the area can hold one of the holder's tokens.
20.1 After city construction is completed, all surplus population is removed to stock. Areas containing a city may not also contain tokens unless the city owner holds Public Works (30.41), and areas not containing a city may not contain more tokens than allowed by their population limits. This is the only time excess tokens are removed, except when a player holding Agriculture is the primary victim of Famine (29.3.1.4). Excess tokens that violate the population limit must wait to be removed during this phase. 20.1.1 Areas containing a city may contain one token belonging to the city's owner if the city owner holds Public Works (30.41).
30.41 Public Works (Civic – 230) 30.41.1 Provides 10 Civic credits and 5 Craft credits. 30.41.2 A holder's cities cost one additional token to construct (19.4). 30.41.3 Each area containing a holder's city may also contain one of holder's tokens (20.1). 30.41.4 Nullifies Provincial Empire (25.6).  I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each). If you're interested, please message me. 
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 9:05:22, edited 3 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-11-30 22:42:18 |
AGRICULTURE.
This card is the most popular and maybe most powerful card in the game. It also may be the most important advance in history. It is highly nescesary for certain civilization to compete with others because of the area in which they start.
1. Some say the card may be too powerful but for reasons above it can not use a price rasie. That's why Velusion came up with the idea of adding a Slave Revolt drawback. Once you can have more tokens on the board you might also suffer more damage on this calamity. Whenever (almost) every player holds this card, the Slave revolt calamity alwys has its effect.
2. In general, the aid of Agriculture in reducing cities results in a benefit when having to reduce cities rather than a punishment. So we decided to remove this option totally from the rules
This has not been playtested yet.
AGRICULTURE (120)
- Increases by one the population limit in areas containing your tokens only.
REMOVED: - Indirectly lessens the effect of city reduction*
- Does not work for the primary victim during the resolution of FAMINE
- SALVE REVOLT: Five additional tokens can not be used for city support.
Adding to the rulebook:
20.1.2 The population limit in areas containing only tokens belonging to a player holding Agriculture (30.3) are increased by one. Agriculture has no effect in areas containing tokens belonging to two or more players, or in case of city reduction.*
21.2 City Reduction 21.2.1 Cities are reduced by replacing them with the maximum number of tokens allowed by the area's population limit. These added token(s) can immediately be used as support for other cities vulnerable to reduction. If, when attempting to reduce a city, players find that they do not have enough tokens in stock to meet the population limit, they replace their city with the tokens they have in stock. If other cities are still unsupported, they are eliminated. When a player holds Agriculture when reducing a city, he may not place an additional token that exceeds the population limit.*
29.4.2 Slave Revolt (major, tradable) 29.4.2.2 If the victim holds Agriculture (30.3), Theocracy (30.45) or Mining (30.29) five additional tokens may not be used for city support for each of these advances held.
30.3 Agriculture (Craft – 120) 30.3.5 Five additional tokens can not be used for city support during Slave Revolt (29.4.2.2).
Adding to the Calamity Quickchart:
Slave Revolt - Aggravated by: - Agriculture.
I have created A4 printsheets at 300 dpi (high resolution) containing 9 cards each, but I have no place to upload them (4-5mb each).
If you're interested, please message me.
* Note: after creating these playtest cards, a new change has been proposed. This is the removal of the rule that the benefit of Agriculture can be used in reducing cities. This is not included in the playtest cards, bu should be regarded as if.
_________________ WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?
Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-12 0:48:31, edited 8 times in total.
|
|
Flo de Haan
VIP 

Joined: 2007-06-22 22:26:30 Posts: 1053 Location: Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
|
|
| 2008-12-01 0:24:27 |
Flo de Haan wrote: WONDER OF THE WORLD - MONUMENT - WRITTEN RECORD
Until Jonno chimes in lets assume the changes to cards outlined are now official.
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2008-12-01 0:29:46 |
Flo de Haan wrote: DIASPORA:
Agreed to the change. Consider it official.
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2008-12-01 0:30:58 |
Flo de Haan wrote: POLITICS:
Reason: It wasn't always clear what the rules say about annexing a city by Politics. All we did is claerify the rules in this.
Agreed and officially approved.
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2008-12-01 2:27:29 |
Flo de Haan wrote: URBANISM - ENGINEERING
1. we experienced that eventhough a player would like to choose the Civics-path/strategy, it still was not attractive. All card are expensive and have many downsides. So we were looking for a way to make the civic-branch a little more attractive. One step is to enable player to build up red credits. Urbansim was a card most people do not even want if they would get it for free because of its Volcanic Eruption and Earthquake drawback. We decided to leave that off to make this card be one of the first step in a civic-strategy. Along with that, the attribute on Engineering is removed.
2. We also decided to change/clearify that the attribute on Urbanism should be allowed only once per turn like Architecture.
3. And it wasn't clear on the card that only areas adjacent by land can be used for Urbanism.
This has been playtested once and it changed from an impopular card into a more popular card. It now has been used several times during the game. We agreed on this to be good change without making the card being too powerful.
Approved, though I'm a little less enthusiastic about this change as some of the others as I always thought Urbanism was a reasonably good card. IMHO wilderness cities have typically been underrated in value.
Still I can't deny that it has typcially not been very popular unless you just really need it (like the celts).
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
| 2008-12-01 2:29:47 |
Flo de Haan wrote: TRADE ROUTES
1. We found the ability on Trade Routes pretty useless. Exchanging cards for treasury tokens at the Return Excess Trade Cards Phase seems nice at first glance, but it'll probably be 1's or 2's you're exchanging. 180 points is very expensive for an ability like that. In addition, if you can hold one extra card, you'd rather hold that extra card instead of exchanging it for treasury.
2. Besides, you need treasury at the moment you are buying either Advances, Trade cards or for the use of special abilities and these moments have passed at that point. We thought if you'd be abled to exchange your cards as special ability, you can both use it for other special abilities like Univeral Doctrine or Politics and use it for voiding the shortage you might have on buying that one Advance you're trying to purchase.
3. We found it nescesary to state you can only exchange for exact twice the face value and not up to twice the face value.
I think this is a good change. Approved for entry into the rulebook!
|
|
Velusion
VIP 

Joined: 2003-02-07 0:00:15 Posts: 387 Location: USA
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum
|
|