Civilization: The Expansion Project

A strategy game inspired by Advanced Civilization™


All times are UTC


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Diaspora
Author Message
Post 
We are playing a game of at least 6 players at my place december the 28th.

This is in for playtest.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
OK, so:


Quote:
Diaspora (270)
- During the Special Abilities Phase, you may place up to seven unit points from stock
in one or several empty areas, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to
target areas.The number of tokens placed this way may not exceed the population
limit of an area.
Cities built this way can only be built on a city site.

-Your hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one.


Addition to the Rulebook:
--
30.14 Diaspora (Religion - 270)
30.14.1 Provides 10 Religion credits and 5 Art credits.
30.14.2 During the Special Abilities Phase (25.2), a holder may place up to seven unit points from stock in one or several empty areas, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to target areas.
The number of tokens placed this way may not exceed the population limit of an area, regardless of the holding Agriculture. Cities built this way can only be built on a city site.
30.14.3 A holder's hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one. (27.2.2)
--


(In fact, I think the Agriculture part is clear from the card, but players who have doubts should not leave it to chance after checking it in the rulebook.)

So, if you hold Agriculture, and you place tokens in an area with a population limit of 3, you can only place 3 tokens, not 4.
(people might move there, butdo not immediatley have an agricultural extend)

Now, when I look at the card, it seems a great card to me, worth its 270 points.

Every turn after calamity resolution, there might be areas empty.
Now you can place tokens in 4 areas giving you an additional 7 tokens next turn.

a lot better than monotheism, because you don't directly affect other players. Combined with Cultural ascendancy this can get very tricky.

You might also move a ship to an foreign area and fight until the area is empty. then in the special abilities phase, fill it up with new population.

Still this card reflects its historical meaning. People moving is masses from their original homelands to another 'empty' land, where other people might say 'this is my land'.
The 'unblocked path' part is very essential in this.

Quote:
Diaspora

Initially the term diaspora meant
‘the scattered’ and was used by the ancient
Greeks to refer to citizens of a dominant
city-state. or polis, who emigrated to a
conquered land with the purpose of
colonization, to assimilate the territory into
the empire.
The current meaning started to develop
from this original sense when the Old
Testament was translated into Greek.
The word ‘diaspora’ there being used to
refer to the population of Jews exiled from
Judea in 586 BC by the Babylonians, and
now is used to refer to any people or ethnic
population who are forced or induced to
leave their traditional homelands.


_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Flo de Haan wrote:
Quote:
Diaspora
Initially the term diaspora meant
‘the scattered’ and was used by the ancient
Greeks to refer to citizens of a dominant
city-state. or polis, who emigrated to a
conquered land with the purpose of
colonization, to assimilate the territory into
the empire.
The current meaning started to develop
from this original sense when the Old
Testament was translated into Greek.
The word ‘diaspora’ there being used to
refer to the population of Jews exiled from
Judea in 586 BC by the Babylonians, and
now is used to refer to any people or ethnic
population who are forced or induced to
leave their traditional homelands.



So this token should come from the board a not from stock!


Senior Member
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-10-02 13:47:40
Posts:
110
Location:
Dresden, Germany
Post 
Well actually you are right, but it would make the card less powerful.

consider a turn to be 250 years, we could say these people expand in the new area.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 14:13:42, edited 2 times in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Flo de Haan wrote:
Well actually you are right, but it would make the card less powerful.

consider a turn to be 250 years, we could say these people expand in the new area.


I agree for this price... but for 150 it would be ok...
but no need to change it further.. it was just an idea.


Senior Member
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-10-02 13:47:40
Posts:
110
Location:
Dresden, Germany
Post 
you're right. but for 150 we have universal doctrine in the same range of cards, or maybe agriculture or architecture can be seen as a cheap sort of diaspora like you described.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
I have one addition:

For now we agreed to this:

Quote:
Diaspora (270)
- During the Special Abilities Phase, you may place up to seven unit points from stock
in one or several empty areas, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to
target areas. The number of tokens placed this way may not exceed the population
limit of an area.
A city built this way can only be built on a city site.

-Your hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one.


In the current (previous) version of Diaspora, you could pick one area you could reach by sea.
Now when you can pick several areas, you can 'scan' all areas over open sea areas for empties. This might make the card very powerful. I guess it's something we did not notice yet.

For example, when you play Dravidia, you can pick almost any area on the East map. but more important, you can pick one area at the nubia coast, one area at the persia coast, one area at the maurya coast.

So I think, an additonial limitation should be made.

My proposal:

Quote:
- During the Special Abilities Phase, you may place up to seven unit points from stock
in one or several adjacent empty areas, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to
target areas. The number of tokens placed this way may not exceed the population
limit of an area. A city built this way can only be built on a city site.




Addition to the Rulebook:
--
30.14 Diaspora (Religion - 270)
30.14.1 Provides 10 Religion credits and 5 Art credits.
30.14.2 During the Special Abilities Phase (25.2), a holder may place up to seven unit points from stock into one or several empty areas, provided that an unblocked path can be traced to target areas. These seven unit points may consist of a city and tokens. For each area the number of tokens may not exceed its population limit, regardless of holding Agriculture (30.3).
If more than one area is chosen this way, all chosen area must be adjacent to eachother. A city built this way can only be built on a city site, and no additional tokens can be placed in the same area this way.
30.14.3 A holder's hand limit of trade cards is reduced by one. (27.2.2)
--


Agreed.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Quote:
So this token should come from the board a not from stock!

Quote:
Well actually you are right, but it would make the card less powerful.

consider a turn to be 250 years, we could say these people expand in the new area.
Good point, but also is said:
Quote:
So, if you hold Agriculture, and you place tokens in an area with a population limit of 3, you can only place 3 tokens, not 4.
(people might move there, butdo not immediatley have an agricultural extend)
I believe in these 250 years people are able to develop agricultural extend...
Anyway, the tokens already are removed from stock, but during the conflict -, the remove surplus - or the calamity phase.

But when a diaspora can be used right, the holder can place seven units on the board, and then in the next population expansion phase this number becomes 14. I think this is too much. Maybe we can limit the number of areas to 2 adjacent areas? Then you just can place your city and support, but not place something which is as powerful as two cities of which one already supported.


Senior Member
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-02-21 22:18:58
Posts:
93
Location:
Leiden, the Netherlands
Post 
Johannes wrote:
But when a diaspora can be used right, the holder can place seven units on the board, and then in the next population expansion phase this number becomes 14. I think this is too much. Maybe we can limit the number of areas to 2 adjacent areas? Then you just can place your city and support, but not place something which is as powerful as two cities of which one already supported.


Considering it is only really fesable to have hae diaspora for 2-4 turns (if that) I'm not too concerned. The card needs to have a good payout to deserve the price. A person might always get unlucky and never be able to use the full (or even partial) benifit.


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2003-02-07 0:00:15
Posts:
387
Location:
USA
Post 
Johannes wrote:
I believe in these 250 years people are able to develop agricultural extend...
Anyway, the tokens already are removed from stock, but during the conflict -, the remove surplus - or the calamity phase.


What I meant, is:

Rulewise, it shouldn't be allowed to place that extra token, for that might be too powerful.
Historically it could be reasonable, but as our game has many historical errors, this could be accepted. It only tried to give some sort of 'historical interpretation' to justify the rule. (worth nothing , just to illustrate)

The same for 'so the tokens used for Diaspora should come from the board rather than stock.' which would be too weak for 270.

In the first place:
I'm looking to make the card be well balanced, powerful for 270, but not TOO powerful for the game.

In the second place:
It should be somehow historically right.

So, that's why I tried to hold stick to the original concept, rather than your idea for a whole new concept somewhere earlier in this topic.

I liked Velusion's idea, so we worked it out and tried to balance it.

Velusion wrote:
Considering it is only really fesable to have hae diaspora for 2-4 turns (if that) I'm not too concerned. The card needs to have a good payout to deserve the price. A person might always get unlucky and never be able to use the full (or even partial) benifit.


Are you talking about the limit of "maximum 2 adjacent area's" only, or do you mean you are not concerned enough to add "adjacent" in the first place.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
I have another question about Diaspora (and actually the same about Universal Doctrine): Is the path free when one of the areas used in the path is a sea area bordering a land area containing enemy units?
If so, it it still free when enemy ships are present on the said area?


Senior Member
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-02-21 22:18:58
Posts:
93
Location:
Leiden, the Netherlands
Post 
Good thing you've noticed this, I was thinking about this subjecct myself once.

To all know what we are talking about
This is what the (Current) rulebook says:


RULEBOOK v2.10 wrote:
2.2 Map Areas
2.2.1 All green and brown-colored territory indicates land. All areas containing land are called land areas. Borders between two land areas are called land borders.
2.2.2 All blue-colored territory indicates water. All areas containing water are called water areas. Borders between two water areas are called water borders.
2.2.3 All areas containing only water are called open sea areas.
2.2.4 Most water areas also contains land, and are thus also land areas. Those that can trace a path strictly over water to an open sea area are called coastal areas.
2.2.5 Two areas sharing a border is considered adjacent to each other. If they share a land border, they are adjacent by land, and if they share a water border they are adjacent by water.

RULEBOOK v2.10 wrote:
3. Playing Pieces
3.5 “Units” is a term used to refer to tokens and cities, but not ships.

RULEBOOK v2.10 wrote:
25.2 Diaspora
25.2.1 A player holding Diaspora (30.14) may either build a city in, or populate up to the population limit, any completely empty area on the map, provided he could trace a path (however long) from an area with his units to the target area.
25.2.2 When tracing this path the player may not trace over land areas containing enemy units. Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose.

RULEBOOK v2.10 wrote:
25.8 Universal Doctrine
25.8.1 A player holding Universal Doctrine (30.49) may convert five unit points of barbarian tokens or pirate cities on the map and replace them with his own units, provided he could trace a path (however long) from an area with his units to the target area.
25.8.2 When tracing these paths the player may not trace over land areas containing enemy units. Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose.


So, tracing a path is allowed over over sea areas, as it is not denied and 'open sea area' are considered an 'area'.

Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose. So when tracing a path, you may trace over the sea part of an area, considering the land part as a different area.

As ships are not considered units, there is no possible unit that can exist in the sea parts of areas, nor at open sea areas.


To clearify this, maybe an addition should be made whenever speaking of 'tracing paths' ships are not counted in.

Not on the card, but in the rulebook.

Maybe this will do:

Flo de Haan wrote:
25.8.2 When tracing a path the player may not trace over land areas containing enemy units. Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose. Ships are not considered units.


(I also changed 'tracing these paths' to 'tracing a path' as you are only tracing a single path.

Then, now we are taking a closer look. I hightligted 'completely empty area' for Diaspora.
Regarding 'Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose', you are allowed to fill up the land part of a(combined) area where the sea part is containing a ship (as these are considered two different areas for this purpose)

I don't know if this is the way it was intented. If so, maybe this should be clearified to take away any doubts in this.

I'm thinking about

Flo de Haan wrote:
A combined area of which the land part is empty but of which the sea part is containing a ship is considered a completely empty area for this purpose.


If not, it should be:

Flo de Haan wrote:
A combined area of which the land part is empty but of which the sea part is containing a ship is not considered a completely empty area for this purpose.


This is a question to Velusion

I've created illustrations to visualize things. (maybe images like these should be included in the rulebook)
Quote:
Image
Option 1: RED may trace the path as he is ignoring the ship in Germanina Magna. The ship is located in the sea part of Germania Magna. This is regarded a different area for this purpose.


Quote:
Image
Option 2: RED may trace the path as he is tracing his path over the seperate sea part of Germanina Magna. This is regarded a different area for this purpose.

Quote:
Image
Option 3: RED may trace the path to Lugia as he is ignoring the ship in the sea part of Lugia. This is regarded a different area for this purpose.


Quote:
Image
Option 4: RED may trace the path to Ulthima Thule as he is tracing his path over the open sea area. He is ignoring the ship in the sea part of Germania Magna, as well as the token in the land part of Germania Magna.



No it is no coincedence i'm taking the map of the netherlands for this illustrations.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
As it is extremely difficult if not impossible to remove an opponents boats from the board I think boats should always be ignored when tracing a path. Only unit and city tokens should be able to block a path.

Otherwise, when my opponent buys diaspora I will camp boats at strategic points along his/her coast.

DG.


Member
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-11-07 14:52:11
Posts:
34
Location:
United Kingdom
Post 
DGatheral wrote:
As it is extremely difficult if not impossible to remove an opponents boats from the board I think boats should always be ignored when tracing a path. Only unit and city tokens should be able to block a path.

Otherwise, when my opponent buys diaspora I will camp boats at strategic points along his/her coast.

DG.


Oh yeah, that's what I meant as well, just like is described in the rulebook.

All I've done is explaining things.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Flo de Haan wrote:
Then, now we are taking a closer look. I hightligted 'completely empty area' for Diaspora.
Regarding 'Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose', you are allowed to fill up the land part of a(combined) area where the sea part is containing a ship (as these are considered two different areas for this purpose)

I don't know if this is the way it was intented. If so, maybe this should be clearified to take away any doubts in this.

I'm thinking about:
Flo de Haan wrote:
A combined area of which the land part is empty but of which the sea part is containing a ship is considered a completely empty area for this purpose.

If not, it should be:
Flo de Haan wrote:
A combined area of which the land part is empty but of which the sea part is containing a ship is not considered a completely empty area for this purpose.



Shouldn't it be sufficient to state: "areas without enemy units" instead of
"completely empty areas". As Ships are no Units, it is waterproof specified.

By the way... at many different places the Rulebook should be enhanced by Pictures of Game Situations.


Senior Member
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2008-10-02 13:47:40
Posts:
110
Location:
Dresden, Germany
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
CivProject phpBB3 template by Jon Severinsson
Based on Revolution Pro phpBB3 template by Brian Gardner Media, LLC