Civilization: The Expansion Project

A strategy game inspired by Advanced Civilization™


All times are UTC


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Adjustments in the rulebook in general
Author Message
Post Adjustments in the rulebook in general
I start this topic for several adjustments in the rulebook.

- spelling / gramatical changes
- adjustments in way of writing.
- clearifying rules
- adding rules
- adding illustrations
- deleting obsolete lines

This is not a topic to discuss whether rules should change or cards should be adjusted.

This topic is ment for debating on how to write down content that already have been approved for change.

Please complete any discussion on a certain adjustment in the appropriate topic and only put down here something when you think it is clear or when you find spelling errors.

To indicate changes I use the following colors:

Quote:
- Addtion to the rulebook in blue

- Replaced chapters in violet

- Changes in the rulebook in red

- Removal of lines in dark red


Please use the 'Quote function' for every single change.

Example 1:

Quote:
Quote:
2.2.5 Two areas sharing a border is considered adjacent to each other. If they share a land border, they are adjacent by land, and if they share a water border they are adjacent by water.


Quote:
2.2.5 Two areas sharing a border are considered adjacent to each other. If they share a land border, they are adjacent by land, and if they share a water border they are adjacent by water.


Example 2:
Quote:
Quote:
25.2.2 When tracing this path the player may not trace over land areas containing enemy units. Water and land components in the same area are considered two different areas for this purpose.


Quote:
25.2.2 When tracing this path the player may not trace over land areas containing enemy units.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
To make this thread less confusing, I add this block to all approved changes/additions:
Velusion wrote:
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


Quote:
I suggest to add an image to the section where every aspect of the board is explaned (2.2):

I've made a quick example of what I mean:

Image

Maybe there is some-one who likes to take a highress picture of the board like this representing a realistic game-situation containing all these components and maybe additional components I've forgot.

In addition I like to replace the 2.2. section by the folowing:

Quote:
CURRENT:
Quote:
2.2 Map Areas
2.2.1 All green and brown-colored territories indicate land. All areas containing land are called land areas. Borders between two land areas are called land borders.
2.2.2 All blue-colored territories indicate water. All areas containing water are called water areas. Borders between two water areas are called water borders.
2.2.3 All areas containing only water are called open sea areas.
2.2.4 Most water areas also contain land, and are thus also land areas. Those that can trace a path strictly over water to an open sea area are called coastal areas.
2.2.5 Two areas sharing a border are considered adjacent to each other. If they share a land border, they are adjacent by land, and if they share a water border they are adjacent by water.
2.2.6 The map areas containing the A.S.T. and the trade card stacks are not in play. Areas adjacent to these areas are considered to be adjacent to the map edge.
2.2.7 All areas containing tokens belonging to a specific civilization are considered to be within that civilization. An area can be within more than one civilization.
2.2.8 All areas adjacent to an area within a specific civilization are considered to be adjacent to that civilization.
2.2.9 Two civilizations are considered adjacent to each other if they have units in the same area, or in two different areas adjacent to each other.
2.3 Map Geographical Features
2.3.1 Volcanoes are represented by white triangles. A volcano may be located in a single area or may straddle two areas.
2.3.2 Flood plains are represented by dark green coloring. Any area that contains such dark green coloring is considered to be on a flood plain.
2.3.3 City sites are represented by small squares. Most city sites are black. White city sites are on flood plains and are vulnerable to floods.
2.4 Other Map Features
2.4.1 A number enclosed in a colored circle indicates the population limits of land areas. These numbers indicate the maximum number of tokens that the area can accommodate. To ease identification, each value has its own color.
2.4.2 All other map features are included for aesthetic purposes only and have no impact on play.



NEW:
Quote:
2.2 Map definitions:
The map is divided into 318 areas each containing a unique name.
- A 'starting location' is an area containing an additional name and color similiar to the appropriate civilization.
- A 'population limit' is a circle containing a number from 0 to 5.
- A 'land area' is an area containing land. It may contain water.
- A 'water area' is an area containing water. It may contain land.
- An 'open sea area' in an area containing strictly water.
- A 'coastal area' is an area containing both land and water that can trace a path strictly over water to an open sea area.
- A 'water border' is a border between two water areas.
- A 'land border' is a border between two land areas.
- Two areas are considered to be 'adjacent areas' if they share a land border or water border.
- An 'adjacent land area' is any second area sharing a land border with the first. The second area may share a water border with the first area as well.
- An 'adjacent water area' is any second area sharing a water border with the first . The second area may share a land border with the first area as well.
- A 'flood plain' is a dark green spot in an area or strechting over several areas. All areas fully or partly covered by this flood plain are considered to be on the flood plain.
- A 'city site' is a black or white square in an area. A white city site is considered to be on a flood plain, a black city site is considered to be not on a flood plain.
- A 'volcano' is a white triangle in an area or on the border of two areas. A volcano on the border of two areas is considered to be in both areas.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 15:52:50, edited 9 times in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
To make this thread less confusing, I add this block to all approved changes/additions:
Velusion wrote:
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


Quote:
I've seen both 'Kush' and 'Kushan' as names for the civilization between Parthia and Maurya.

You can read the discussion about this subject here: http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... light=kush
or
To take away any doubts. This was written march 2008:
Jonno wrote:
Nubia is staying Nubia. Period.

Kush however, is going to be renamed to Kushan.


Let's stick to that.



In addition:
The right name for the most northwest civilization in our game is "Celt" not "Celts".

The topic describing this, can be found here:
http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=535

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-05 12:04:08, edited 2 times in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
To make this thread less confusing, I add this block to all approved changes/additions:
Velusion wrote:
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


Quote:
Conceirning the allowance of stating calamities in the first two cards when negotiating a trade, we came to the following:
Quote:

Quote:
23.3 Each trade must involve at least three trade cards on each side. A player with fewer than three trade cards may not trade. When negotiating a trade each player must honestly inform the other of the number of trade cards he wishes to trade and the identity of the first two of the commodity cards involved in the trade. This information must be correct - the remaining card or cards need not be specified and may consist of any commodity or tradable calamity card(s), regardless of what was said to the other player. A player may not show his trade cards to another player during negotiations, nor may a player inform other players of the details of a trade after it is completed.


Quote:
23.3 Each trade must involve at least three trade cards on each side. A player with fewer than three trade cards may not trade. When negotiating a trade each player must honestly inform the other of the number of trade cards he wishes to trade and the identity of the first two of the commodity cards involved in the trade. It's is not allowed to state calamities in the first two cards. This information must be correct - the remaining card or cards need not be specified and may consist of any commodity or tradable calamity card(s), regardless of what was said to the other player. A player may not show his trade cards to another player during negotiations, nor may a player inform other players of the details of a trade after it is completed.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 15:53:36, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
To make this thread less confusing, I add this block to all approved changes/additions:
Velusion wrote:
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


Quote:
I suggest to change any mention on 'civilization cards' in the rulebook into 'civilization advances'

Quote:
CURRENT:
Quote:
5. Civilization Cards
5.1 Civilization cards represent 51 important aspects of civilization. There are five groups of civilization cards, each identified by its own color and symbolic shape. Some cards belong to two groups. The groups are: art (blue - triangle), civic (red - hexagon), craft (orange – square), religion (yellow – star), and science (green - circle).
5.2 The attributes of the various civilization cards are summarized on their cards. It contains no new information and is presented for ease of reference.


NEW:
Quote:
5. Civilization Advances
5.1 Civilization Advances are fifty-one different cards representing important aspects of civilization. There are five groups of civilization advances, each identified by its own color and symbolic shape. Some advances belong to two groups. The groups are: art (blue - triangle), civic (red - hexagon), craft (orange – square), religion (yellow – star), and science (green - circle).

5.2 Each card contains attributes that provide the holder of the card with benefits during the game, as well as both rights and duties in resolving calamties. The attributes go in effect at the start of a turn and are considered to be active continiously. Once a civilization advance is purchased, it can never be turned in, sold, or traded.
5.3 Each card contains credit symbols (6.1) and some cards contain additional credits to a specific card. These credits can not be used in the same turn a card is being bought.
5.4 Each player can only purchase one card of each civilization advance.



I think it's good too also add an image here that explains all aspects of one card.

Image

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 15:54:02, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
To make this thread less confusing, I add this block to all approved changes/additions:
Velusion wrote:
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


Quote:
We totally removed the multi-color credit tokens so this mention in the rulebook should be removed.

Quote:
CURRENT:
Quote:
6. Credit Tokens
6.1 Credit tokens come in six different sets, one each for the five groups of civilization cards (i.e. art, civic, craft, religion, and science) as well as one representing all the groups. Each of these colored tokens come in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 40.
6.2 As players acquire civilization cards they will permanently acquire these credit tokens applying them to all future civilization card purchases of the appropriate group. The multi color tokens apply to civilization cards belonging to any group.



NEW:
Quote:
6. Credit Tokens
6.1 There are five different sets of credit tokens, one each for the five groups of civilization cards (i.e. art, civic, craft, religion, and science) Each of these colored tokens come in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 40.
6.2 As players acquire civilization cards they will permanently acquire these credit tokens that can be used to give credits to all future purchases of civilization advances of the appropriate group.


In addition, later in the rules, the use of credit tokens is specified. there are some changes to be made here too. There are some obsolete parts, some replaced parts and some parts that can be written down more clearly. This is my proposal:

Quote:
CURRENT:
Quote:

26.5 Credits
26.5.1 All civilization cards provide credit tokens which, when shown upon purchase, gives discount on civilization cards belonging to the appropriate field of study. Multi-colored tokens gives discount on all civilization cards. Some civilization cards also provide a one time direct bonus that applies to one specific civilization card.
26.5.2 A player may at any time exchange two or more credit tokens of one color to one or more credit token of the same color with the same total face value.
26.5.2.1 If a player owns credit tokens of all five colors, he may exchange them for multi colored tokens. To do so he must give the bank the same face value of all five colors, and will in return get multi colored credits with that face value.
Example: A player has one Craft-20, one Science-10, two Science-5, two Art-10, one Civic-20 and one Religion-20. He may now exchange all of them for one Multi-20.
26.5.3 A summary of credits is printed on the civilization advances credits quick charts. These charts contains no new information, but provides a handy summary of the information found below and on the cards themselves.
26.5.4 Credit tokens and direct discounts may not be used in the same turn in that they are acquired. A player must wait until the next turn to use credit tokens and direct discounts from newly acquired civilization cards. The simplest way to enforce this rule is for players who purchase more than one civilization card to collect them at the same time.
26.5.5 Credit tokens owned by a player may be applied towards the purchase of more than one civilization card, but the credit may only be applied once to each new card.
Example: Egypt is holding 10 science credits and is planning to purchase both Coinage and Medicine this turn. He may apply the 10 points credit to the purchase of both Coinage and Medicine, but each card will only get the 10 points bonus once.
26.5.6 Some Civilization cards belong to two fields of study. These are printed with both colors at the top of the card. These cards receive discount from the credit tokens for one, but not both of the colors. The color giving the largest discount is used. Multi-colored tokens and specific bonuses are used independent of what color are giving the largest discount.
26.5.7 A player must use a credit if it applies to a civilization card he is purchasing. He cannot choose to ignore the credit in order to spend treasury tokens.
26.5.8 If a player has sufficient credits to acquire a civilization card without any expenditure of commodity cards or treasury tokens, he may acquire that civilization card at no cost.
26.5.9 No "change" is given if the value of commodity cards and credits exceeds the value of the civilization cards being purchased. Any excess is lost.
Example: A player has 25 Art credit tokens, six trade cards (three Grain, two Papyri, and one Hides), and ten tokens in treasury. He wishes to acquire the Music card (value 80). He shows his 25 Art credit tokens; the trade cards have a value of 45 (36 for the Grain, eight for the Papyri and one for the Hides); and the treasury holds ten tokens. The total value is 80 points (25 in credits + 45 in trade cards + 10 in treasury) - just enough to acquire Music.


NEW:
Quote:

26.5 Credits

26.5.1 Whenever a civilization advance is purchased, the player immediately receives the credit tokens printed on the cards. Some cards give additional credit tokens specified in the attributes.

26.5.2 When purchasing civilization advances credit tokens give credits to advances of the approriate color. Credit tokens may be used to give credit to the purchase of one or more civilization advances of the same color during a single turn. If a multi-colored civilization advance is being purchased only one group of color credits may be applied. The color credits that give the highest amount of credit is counted this way.

26.5.3 Some advances give a specific credit to a single card. Color-credits and specific credits are cumulative. When a multi-colored civilization advanced is being purchased the specific credit is not regarded in counting the highest amount of color-credits.

26.5.4 If the combined color and/or specific credits to purchase a single civilization advance equals or exceeds its price, the player may purchase the civilization advance for free. Players get no change whenever the combined color and/or specific credits exceeds its price.

26.5.5 When purchasing civilization advances, credit tokens and specific credits must be used. Players may not choose to use treasury tokens instead of credits.

26.5.6 A credit token can not be turned in, sold or traded. Once received, player keep these tokens until the end of the game. Players may not use credit tokens the same turn they receive them.


_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 15:54:22, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
I think all of the changes/clarifications above are good and I approve them unless Jonno has any reservations.


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2003-02-07 0:00:15
Posts:
387
Location:
USA
Post 
As result of this discussion: http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=3918#3918
this should be changed in the rulebook in the section that handles about city attack:
Quote:
PART 1:
Quote:
18.3.2 If the required number of tokens attack a city, the defender replaces the city with six tokens and the resulting conflict between the attacking and defending tokens is resolved. If the defending player has fewer than six tokens in stock he replaces the attacked city with what tokens he has and combat is resolved normally. Players are entitled to resolve any other conflicts involving their tokens before resolving attacks on their cities, so that the maximum number of tokens may replace their cities. If more than one city is attacked during a single turn, each single city attack is resolved in defender AST order. Only if a defender cannot replace a city with enough tokens, the defender is allowed to choose and place a city attack last in row of city attack order to provide him tokens to defend the city.


PART 2 CURRENT:
Quote:

18.5.1 When a city is attacked and eliminated by a player, the attacking player immediately draws, at random, one of the victim's trade cards and retains it for his own use. If the victim has no trade cards, no such draw occurs.

18.5.2 In addition to drawing a trade card from the victim, a player who successfully attacks a city may transfer up to three tokens from his stock to his treasury, to reflect pillage of the destroyed city. The attacker may choose to transfer fewer than three tokens if he wishes. The number of tokens that may be pillaged may not exceed the number of tokens in the attacker's stock, and can never exceed three tokens per city. The victim's treasury and stock are unaffected by pillage.

18.5.3 No trade card is drawn nor does pillage occur when a city is converted by Monotheism (25.4), annexed by Politics (25.5), or destroyed by Fundamentalism (25.3). Also, no trade card is drawn nor does pillage occur when a city is eliminated by barbarians or lost as a result of any other calamity or a tax revolt.

18.5.4 A player who attacks and eliminates a pirate city may pillage it.



PART 2 NEW:
Quote:
18.5.1 For each city that is attacked and eliminated by a player, the attacking player immediately draws, at random, one of the victim's trade cards. If a victim has no trade cards at the moment of city elimination, no such draw occurs for that city.

18.5.2 In addition to drawing a trade card from the victim, a player who successfully attacks a city may choose to pillage the destroyed city. This is done by transfering up to three tokens from his stock to his treasury. The victim's treasury and stock are unaffected by pillage.

18.5.3 A player who successfully attacks a pirate city may pillage it.

18.5.4 No trade card is drawn nor does pillage occur when a city is annexed by a player as result of a tax revolt or by using the special abilities Monotheism (25.4), Politics (25.5), or Fundamentalism (25.3). No trade card is drawn nor does pillage occur when a city is destroyed by barbarians or by any other calamity.

18.5.5 Each single city attack, destruction, trade card drawing and pillage is considered to be one simultaneous action.


_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-01 17:32:44, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
The result of this topic:

http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... =3749#3749

To clearly indacte the effects of cards to be cumulative if so, we came to add this:

FAMINE:

Quote:

30.39.2 Five less unit points are lost by a primary or secondary victim of Famine (29.3.1.2)


Quote:
29.3.1.5 The effects of Calendar and Pottery are cumulative.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 16:21:37, edited 2 times in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
The result of this topic:
http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... =3539#3539

MerlokDD wrote:
Mistake in 17.4.2
Quote:
17.4.2 Players holding Cultural Ascendancy (30.11) or Advanced
Military (30.2) may not attack any units belonging to a player holding
Cultural Ascendancy. Attacking units is defined as moving tokens into an
area containing units in enough force that conflict would occur.

Should be changed to
Quote:
Players NOT holding ...


Cultural ascendancy:

change in the rulebook:
Quote:
17.4.2 Players not holding Cultural Ascendancy (30.11) or Advanced
Military (30.2) may not attack any units belonging to a player holding
Cultural Ascendancy. Attacking units is defined as moving tokens into an
area containing units in enough force that conflict would occur.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-03 16:20:39, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
The result of this topic:

http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... =3539#3539

MerlokDD wrote:
Quote:
29.7.1.1 The must immediately discard ten points worth of commodity cards (face value, not set
value) of his choice. These cards are shuffled back into the appropriate decks at the end of the
Return of Excess Commodity Cards phase (27.3).


should be:

Quote:
29.7.1.1 The PRIMARY VICTIM must ...


CORRUPTION:

Change in the rulebook:
Quote:
29.7.1.1 The primary victim must immediately discard ten points worth of commodity cards (face value, not set
value) of his choice. These cards are shuffled back into the appropriate decks at the end of the
Return of Excess Commodity Cards phase (27.3).

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Conceirning the possible leave of a player during the game, we came to the right stating and ruling for this in this topic:

http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=502


The results are:


Quote:
This should be mentioned in the rulebook somewhere at the end. The right numbering should be applied conceirning its place in the rulebook.

Quote:
Player's leaving the game.

Whenever during the game any player should leave the game, the remainder of the players can still continue to finish the game.
If a decision is made to continue playing, the leaving player can not rejoin the game in a later stadium.
Follow this procedure:

1. If desired, note all purchased civilization advances, AST position and current VP's of the leaving player (32.1).

2. Optionally remove the leaving player's AST marker and Census marker.

3. All tradecards held by the leaving player are discarded. These cards are shuffled and placed under in the appropriated decks during the returning excess trade cards phase as if they were discarded by any player during this phase.

4. All Civilization Advances purchased by the leaving player are discarded.

5. All credit tokens held by the the leaving player are discarded.

6. All ships of the leaving player are returned to stock.

7. All units of the leaving player in areas partly or fully ascociated with the player's civilization as mentioned in the scenario handbook/appendix (number link) must be selected by flipping them upside down.

8. Place a flipped upside down token of the leaving player in all remaining areas partly or fully ascocated with his civilization as mentioned in the scenario handbook/appendix (number link) .

9. All other remaining tokens of the leaving player on the board are replaced by barbarian tokens and all his remaining cities are replaced by pirate cities. These are considered barbarians and pirate cities and may be attacked as normal.

10. All selected tokens and cities on the board are now considered to be 'out of play', and are only used to mark these areas. Each area containing any of the leaving player's tokens or cities are considered 'out of play' (link to scenario appendix). Any areas containing both leaving player's tokens and other player's tokens are only considered in play as long as they also contain any other player's tokens. As soon as such area only contains any of the leaving player's tokens, this area is considered 'out of play' for the rest of the game. A 'unit out of play' is considered to be not on the map. It can not be attacked, annexed or selected as secondary vicitim of a calamity. It does not count for the population limit of an area.


In addition, at the start of the scenario handbook/appendix there should be included the following:


Quote:
General guidelines:
1. Whenever you play less than eighteen civilizations you should follow the scenario for the appropriate amount of players.

2. All areas ascociated with unused civilizations are considered out of play. These areas are marked by using tokens of the appropriate unused civilizations flipped upside down. A 'unit out of play' is considered to be not on the map. It can not be attacked, annexed or selected as secondary vicitim of a calamity. It does not count for the population limit of an area. All areas out of play are considered to be not on the map. Players may not move tokens or ships into these areas. These areas can not be selected during calamity resoltution or by using special abilities in the special abilities phase.


In addition there should be a mention of 'out of play areas' in the map defenitions:
Quote:
An 'area out of play' is considered to be not on the map (number that links to the scenario handbook)
A 'unit out of play' is not considered a unit, but is used as a marker. It is considered to be not on the map.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-22 10:01:15, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
There's been some discussion about the fact whether a check for conflict is being made after or during the resolution of Civil War. This has been denied by Jonno and in addition a rule has been added to avoid a conflict as much as possible.

This is the topic:
http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... =4231#4231

This is the result:

Adding to the rulebook:
Quote:
18. Conflict
18.1 Conflict occurs when the tokens of two or more civilizations occupy the same area and the total number of tokens in the area is greater than the population limit of the area. Areas containing a city can not hold any tokens, unless the city owner holds Public Works (30.41), in which case the area can hold one token belonging to the owner of the city. If the population limit of an area containing tokens belonging to two or more different civilizations is not exceeded, the tokens will co-exist without conflict. No check for conflict is made during or after the resolution of calamities as result of this resolution except for during the resolution of Barbarian Hordes (29.5.2).


Quote:
29.4.1 Civil War (major, Non-tradabale)
29.4.1.3.1 The primary victim begins by selecting fifteen of his unit points. He must select all unit points in one area at once. If it's not possible to select all unit points this way the he must select as many unit points in the area as possible.


Quote:
29.4.1.3.4 After the victim completes his selection, the beneficiary selects an additional 20 unit points belonging to the primary victim to complete the first faction. The beneficiary must select all unit points belonging to the primary victim in one area at once. If it's not possible to select all unit points this way the beneficiary must select as many unit points in the area as possible.


Quote:
29.4.1.8 No check for conflict is made as result of the resolution of Civil War.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


Last edited by Flo de Haan on 2008-12-22 10:36:08, edited 1 time in total.

VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
There's one error in the rulebook at 12.1

The sequence of play speaks about a series of phases, but none of them speaks of 'phase' in the name of the phase, except for 'Special Abilities Phase'. This inconsequence seems to be an error.

This should be changed in

....
Calamity Resolution
Special Abilites
City Support Check
....

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Post 
Clearification for tax revolts, and the addition of some clearification of the rules for Civil War and Tyranny in this same subject resulted in the following change in the rulebook:

http://www.civproject.net/forum/viewtop ... =4236#4236


Quote:
13.3 Tax Revolts
13.3.1 First all players collect their taxes as usual, and all players having insufficient tokens in stock collect all tokens in stock and count the number of cities they were unabled to collect taxes for. These cities are considered to be affected by rax revolt.
13.3.2 For each player that has insufficient tokens in stock to collect the required taxes, a tax revolt occurs. A player having one or more cities affected is considerd to be the primary victim of a single tax revolt. If more than one player has insufficient tokens in stock each tax revolt is resolved entirely in AST-order.
13.3.3 The player with the most unit points in stock is the beneficiary of a tax revolt. Any second victim of a tax revolt can not be the beneficiary of the first. If a primary victim has the most unit points in stock, or whenever there is a tie between the primary victim and other players for most unit points in stock, the tax revolt has no effect. If there is a tie between other players the victim decides who will be the beneficiary between the tied players.
13.3.3 The beneficiary then selects and annexes the amount of affected cities by replacing them by his own.
13.3.4 If the beneficiary does not have enough cities in stock to annex all affected cities, he annexes as much cities as possible. Next up, the player with the next largest number of unit points in stock at this point selects and annexes as much as possible of the remainder of affected cities, and so on for each new beneficiary, until all affected cities have been replaced. Any primary victim of a tax revolt can not be the next player to be selected as beneficiary this way. If the primary victim holds Public Works and the area in which an affected city is annexed contains one of his tokens, this additional token is not annexed by a beneficiary nor removed.
13.3.5 Any new controller of an affected city does not collect taxes for this city.
13.3.6 In the case where no player can take over remaining affected cities, they are destroyed instead.
13.3.7 Players holding Democracy (30.13) can not be the victim of a tax revolt.
13.3.8 No check for surplus population or city support is being made after a tax revolt.


Quote:
Civil War:
29.4.1.7 The beneficiary then annexes the other faction. He must annex all unit points of this faction in one area at once. If it's not possible to annex all unit points this way the beneficiary must select as many unit points in the area as possible. Next up, the player with the next largest number of unit points in stock at this point annexes as much as possible of the remainder of the faction this way, and so on for each new beneficiary, until all affected cities have been replaced. The primary victim of Civil War can not be the next player to be selected as beneficiary this way.
29.4.1.8 No check for conflict or surplus population is made as result of the resolution of Civil War.


Quote:
Tyranny:
29.8.1.6 If the beneficiary does not have enough units to make any more annexations the calamity is over. The beneficiary cannot reduce his cities in order to annex any areas.

29.8.1.8 No check for conflict or surplus population is made as result of the resolution of Tyranny.

_________________
WOH CANGHED TEH KYES ON YM KEBYORAD?


VIP
User avatar
Profile
Send private message
Joined:
2007-06-22 22:26:30
Posts:
1053
Location:
Netherlands (Heerhugowaard)
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
CivProject phpBB3 template by Jon Severinsson
Based on Revolution Pro phpBB3 template by Brian Gardner Media, LLC