I have a few questions about some ambiguities about this wonderful classic on which I wasted every Friday and Saturday of my youth.
1) If a ship is in a location where there is are no units belonging to me, can I maintain it with a treasury point?
2) In the taxation phase, if I don't have enough tokens to prevent all cities from going into revolt, but I one city would have a partial payment, do I need to pay my entire stock into the treasury? Or can I keep back the partial payment that would go to a city that is will revolt anyway? I'm 80% sure that I need to pay my entire stock.
2a) The taxation seems to be based on unit points, which means that cities in my stock count as 5. Can I use these 5 points to reclaim my own cities?
2b) If my cities come back to me, and each is worth 5, if a second player has revolting cities, can I use the cities placed back into my stock to count as 5 each to take over the cities of the next players whose cities go into revolt?
3) I'm pretty sure I can't refuse to maintain a ship and then rebuild it in the same space, even if I do this in 2 different locations. True, right?
4) 17.41 and 17.42. The parenthetical line is the more important. If there would be no conflict, it is still forbidden for a player to move into an area partially occupied by a player with Diplo, Cult Asc, or Adv Mil. This rule, I believe is completely Expansion Project and not at all Avalon Hill, right?
5) The ship capacity of 5--that's EP and not AH, right? I seem to remember 4?
6) OK, this I know is EP. Advanced Military. If I retreat, can I go absolutely to any neighboring location? Even if the retreat causes new conflicts? Or is that the reason I have to leave one behind--so that I can only retreat so far before attrition brings me down to nothing.
6a) If I can retreat anywhere, the order of conflict is potentially important. Determinted BY AST first, then player, right?
6b) Do I have to retreat on the first round of combat? Or can I, for example. reduce the attackers of a city to below the level where they would reduce the city, and then retreat?
6c) If I have superior numbers and I retreat, do I cause damage to my opponent? So say there is an area that holds 4. They have 3 tokens and I have 4. I retreat immediately and leave two. Does the area end up with 3 and 1 or 2 and 2?
7) Another EP question. Urbanism and Architecture: if I have both, and sufficient treasury, I theoretically need only 6 tokens to make a city on a non-city site (due to architecture) and if there are 4 tokens in a neighboring area, I only need 2 in an area to actually build a city? Or is it the case that 4 tokens in a neighboring area count as 8 tokens by the Architecture rule?

Rule 21.12 says that cities constructed this turn must be reduced first. But what about cities aquired but not constructed?
9) earthquake. So the most damaging location must be chosen. This includes the effects of 28.213 and 28.214 (Urbasim/Engineering)?
10) Treachery: If I don't trade a card and I have Diplomacy, I only reduce one city, right? Not two?
11) Famine. I think this is straightforward. If there is a Public Works token on a city area and I am a primary victim, I don't remove that token?
11a) I assume Calendar and Pottery effects are cumulative?
12) Civil War--EP, a new requirement 28.412- 7 areas between a player and the 'beneficiary'. Does that count open sea?
12a) If the primary and beneficiary are tied in the stock, is a Civil war optional?
12b) If I have Music and Drama and Poetry--that counts as 10 units, right?
12c) 28.416 Wow! I assume that if there is an area with atleast one token of the other faction, I must remove from that area or adjacent areas until there are no more. And that no tokens are actually removed until this whole process is done? So as my opponent removes the last token from an area, I am still obligated to remove tokens adjacent to that area before other nonadjacent areas?
12d) I assume 28.416 doesn't require me to go over the limit becuase I only have cities adjacent to the opponent? I can keep a city and remove tokens from nonadjacent areas?
13) 28.511 If a city in a non city site area is built in a non flood area (no dark green), is that city vulnerabel to floods?
13a) Can I assign more than 7 flood points to a player with Engineering so that I don't have to assign the remaining 3 points to another player?
14) Barbarian invasions--If I can direct the barbarians away from the primary victim using the rules of 28.523, can I make the barbarians go away? Or can the Barbarians move multiple areas at once?
15) Piracy--can the primary victim chose secondary cities that are on a different coast?
16) Banditry--"at least"? Please tell me how this works. It seems I can take all the victims cards because they value "at least" the number of cities? If he has 5 cities and a 7, 4, 2, and a 1, am I required to take the 4 and 1 or can I take the 7? Or can I take all? I assume I get to see all the cards.
17) Written Record--clarification! One color on each turn? Or do I choose a color once and only once? If so when?