| Civilization: The Expansion Project https://dev.civproject.net/forum/ |
|
| Barbarians Hordes clarification https://dev.civproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=417 |
Page 1 of 1 |
| Author: | trad2bay [ 2007-05-27 11:45:55 ] |
| Post subject: | |
Just a small clarification on Barbarians. I know that this is Civilization: The Expansion Project - and not Advanced Civilization - but in Advanced Civilization, there are two aspects of the original rule that appear not to have migrated into the current rule. 1. Advanced Civilization Rule (ACR) 30.5211 "....(last sentence) They (the Barbarians)may be placed in an area which contains units belonging to a player other that the primary victim if no other area is available." The Civilization Expansion Project Rules (TCEPR) 28.523 state: "28.523 The barbarians invade any zero population area, any area bordering an empty zero population area, any area containing barbarian tokens, any area bordering an area containing only barbarian tokens, or any area bordering the map edge. If possible, the barbarians invade an area containing a city owned by the victim. If that's not possible, they invade an area containing tokens owned by the victim. If no legal area, as specified above, contains any cities or tokens owned by the victim, the remaining barbarians tokens are eliminated. My reading of this is that (TCEPR)28.523 means that now (ACR) 30.5211 can never happen, but instead the Barbarians are eliminated. Am I correct in this interpreatation? 2. (ACR) 30.5234 " The movement of Barbarians is governed by the principle that they always move into an area which causes the greatest immediate damage to the primary victim. No calculation is made as to whether the overall damage to the primary victim would be greater if the Barbarian went into one are as opposed to another, as the determination of the greatest damage is made for each Barbarian movement in turn" I have always interpreted ACR 30.5234 to mean that the Barbarians move to create the greatest damage for this immediate movement - not the overall Barbarian Campaign. However I do not see a mention of this in the The Civilization Expansion Project Rules. Does this free up the Controller of the Barbarians to now inflict maximal damage on the Victim over the course of the Barbarian Campaign? I can see one possibility is for the Barbarians to avoid attacking Cities and only to attack units. Once again, am I correct in this interpretation? |
|
| Author: | Jonno [ 2007-05-27 12:23:20 ] |
| Post subject: | |
trad2bay wrote: 1. Advanced Civilization Rule (ACR) 30.5211 "....(last sentence) They (the Barbarians)may be placed in an area which contains units belonging to a player other that the primary victim if no other area is available." The Civilization Expansion Project Rules (TCEPR) 28.523 state: "28.523 The barbarians invade any zero population area, any area bordering an empty zero population area, any area containing barbarian tokens, any area bordering an area containing only barbarian tokens, or any area bordering the map edge. If possible, the barbarians invade an area containing a city owned by the victim. If that's not possible, they invade an area containing tokens owned by the victim. If no legal area, as specified above, contains any cities or tokens owned by the victim, the remaining barbarians tokens are eliminated. My reading of this is that (TCEPR)28.523 means that now (ACR) 30.5211 can never happen, but instead the Barbarians are eliminated. Am I correct in this interpreatation? Barbarian hordes can always (at controllers discretion) invade areas containing both the primary victim's units and neutral units, but never areas containing only neutral units. If no valid areas contains the primary victim's units any remaining barbarians are eliminated. trad2bay wrote: 2. (ACR) 30.5234 " The movement of Barbarians is governed by the principle that they always move into an area which causes the greatest immediate damage to the primary victim. No calculation is made as to whether the overall damage to the primary victim would be greater if the Barbarian went into one are as opposed to another, as the determination of the greatest damage is made for each Barbarian movement in turn" I have always interpreted ACR 30.5234 to mean that the Barbarians move to create the greatest damage for this immediate movement - not the overall Barbarian Campaign. However I do not see a mention of this in the The Civilization Expansion Project Rules. Does this free up the Controller of the Barbarians to now inflict maximal damage on the Victim over the course of the Barbarian Campaign? I can see one possibility is for the Barbarians to avoid attacking Cities and only to attack units. Once again, am I correct in this interpretation? Barbarians never think ahead, not in AdvCiv and not in CivProject. So you never have to think about the most damage overall in the campaign. In AdvCiv barbarians had to do as much damage as possible at each step. This is not the case in CivProject. Instead the barbarians must attack a city if possible (whether or not they can destroy it), and only when there is no city in a valid area may they attack tokens. |
|
| Author: | trad2bay [ 2007-05-28 8:07:20 ] |
| Post subject: | |
Thanks Jonno. Thanks for the explanation and clarification. It makes sense now. |
|
| Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC |
| Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |
|